Search MusicLessons.com:

Community Public Discussion

topic for discussion

Online Guitar Teacher

Posted 2013-07-26T05:23:04.0Z by Fisch R1,090
  • Early Adopter

G’day

I am a guitar teacher running the following site http://www.theflamencogypsy.com/ 

I currently teach lessons online using skype. I would like to know if there are any other music teachers out there that are also teaching online lessons, and how you are going about doing it.

My plan is to record each lesson and then post it to a client portal for each individual student. As well as set homework and so forth, they will also be able to post any questions on their page.

Anyone with any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Fisch

Comments:

• I do live skype with my students and upload any lessons plans or music they may need for the following week. Because I have a live lesson I can make sure their technique is improving and correct anything that needs correcting.Autumn B 2013-08-03T23:44:50.0Z
  • Thanks for the comment mate. Where do you upload your lesson plans. I pretty much upload them to my website, on a private page. It seems to work for now but I would love to have an individual wish list for my students. So they could look through a library of songs and techniques and pick out some they really want to work on.Fisch R 2013-08-04T04:19:39.0Z

Replies

Date | Votes
Reply — Posted 2013-07-26T17:16:57.0Z
JP13,143
  • V.I.P.
  • Teacher

I looked at your site and I'm assuming you need to add the technology that will allow people to signup and access your lessons, is that correct? Are you building the site yourself, or do you have a developer helping you?

Comments:

Reply — Posted 2013-07-27T04:45:50.0Z
Fisch R1,090
  • Early Adopter

I am designing the site myself. I haven't yet added in a client portal but I'm currently testing a heap of video conferencing programs with a few students. Eventually I plan to have a heap of resources available for general public use.